Pages Navigation Menu


Writers in Residence: Alumni

Posted by on Jan 6, 2014

1998 – Trevor Todd, Julia Lawrinson 1999 – Cecily Scutt, Georgia Richter 2000 – Kevin Gillam, Tracey Ryan 2001 – Steven Dedman, Jaya Mullamby 2002 – Glynn Parry, Kate Ramage 2003 – Megan McKinley, Alan Hancock 2004 – Allan Boyd 2005 – Natasha Lester, Chris McLeod, Nola Hosking, Shevaun Cooley 2006 – Terry Whitebeach, Sarah French, Michael Farrell, Lily Chan 2007 – Bronwyne Thomason, Andrew Burke, Alli Barnard 2008 – Lucas North 2009 – Adriana Ellis, Helen Venn, Les Wicks 2010 – NO FUNDING 2011 – John Mateer, Liana Joy Christensen, Rachel Robertson, Sue Woolfe, Peter Bishop 2012 – Horst Kornberger, Janet Blagg (editor), Janet Jackson, Scott-Patrick Mitchell, Christina Neubauer, Amanda Curtin (editor), Laurie Steed, Campbell Jeffreys 2013 – Robert Drewe, Iris Lavell, Jeremy Balius, Annabelle Smith...

Read More


Posted by on Sep 22, 2013

Since its beginnings in 1938 FAWWA has honoured established writers in our community by making them Fellows. Indeed, until Constitutional changes in 1996, only Fellows — those members with a body of published work — had voting rights. Many well-known writers such as Elizabeth Jolly and Julie Lewis began as Associate members, only becoming Fellows after achieving major publication.In 2005 our Fellows were invited to become members of a Council of Published Authors (COPA) and the title of Fellows was no longer used.In 2008, the Executive decided to return to the earlier title. Members who have recently achieved substantial publication are invited to apply for Fellow status. To become a FAWWA Fellow you must: Have had a substantial body of work published Have been a member of the FAWWA for at least two years. Applications should be addressed to:...

Read More

Welcome to our new Fellows 2013

Posted by on Jul 23, 2013

The FAWWA would like to congratulate its two newest members for their work, and thank them for being a a part of the FAWWA community. Annamaria Weldon, shortlisted for the Peter Porter Poetry Prize 2012, was awarded the inaugural Nature Writing Prize (2011) by the Nature Conservancy Australia, and the Tom Collins Poetry Prize 2010. Her text, photo and recorded poetry installation, in collaboration with artist Carolyn Marks, was commissioned for the opening of Mandurah INQB8 Gallery of contemporary Art in 2011. Her collection of poetry The Roof Milkers was published by the Sunline Press. Her style is grounded in a sense of place and a strong geographic feeling and consciousness that she might have developed during her many travels, from Malta to Western Australia, through London and Central America to name a very few. Annamaria is a very...

Read More

History – 2013 is FAWWA’s 75th year!

Posted by on Apr 10, 2013

The office is open Mondays and Thursdays between 10am and 5pm if you would like to visit our two heritage houses. 1. Beginnings In June 1938 American writer, Hartley Grattan, visited Perth. Katharine Susannah Prichard and John K. Ewers organised a dinner for him with local writers. Only 11 West Australian writers were present and of those 11 not one writer knew all the others. Following a suggestion by Grattan, the oldest writer present, Jesse Hammond, urged John K. Ewers to form an organisation where writers could meet and support each other. After ongoing discussions with Henrietta Drake-Brockman, Gavin Casey and others, the first meeting of the new Fellowship of Australian Writers (WA) was held in October 1938 and Ewers was elected as Foundation President Katharine Susannah Prichard was a founding member. 2. Constitution Rather than form a separate...

Read More

An Appetite for Writing with Cath Drake

Posted by on Oct 6, 2012

Join us at Mattie Furphy House at 11am on Sunday 14th of October for Cath’s informative and imaginative look at food and writing. The workshop will include making and enjoying lunch together in the restored heritage loungeroom of Mattie’s beautiful home....

Read More

Happy 21st Birthday

Posted by on Aug 23, 2012

to our wonderful PR Intern Amy. Red Velvet and Choc Chip cupcakes to...

Read More