Pages Navigation Menu


The Tom Collins Poetry Prize 2013 is Now Open

Posted by on Nov 2, 2013

The Tom Collins Poetry Prize is an annual competition inaugurated by FAWWA in 1975 in memory of Australian author Joseph Furphy (1843 – 1912) who wrote as Tom Collins. First Prize is $1000, Second Prize is $400 and four Highly Commended poems receive $150 each. Poems should be no more than 60 lines. Closing date is 15 December. TCPP2013 Entry Form and...

Read More

Competitions Calendar

Posted by on Sep 2, 2013

Up for a challenge? If you are looking for a competition to enter, check out the FAWWA Competitions...

Read More

Alison Davis wins the Hadow Stuart 2013

Posted by on Aug 22, 2013

Read Alison’s Award winning story, Flatpacked. Second Prize went to Carmel Lillis for her story, Fly, Flee, Flow. Beverley Lello was Highly Commended for Mens Shed. Zena Shapter was also Highly Commended for ‘Weighing Time.’ Commended entries were; Russell Dawson for ‘Excerpts from the Diary of Stephen Freeberne.’ Brooke Dunnell for ‘Alarm.’ Pamela Spackman for ‘Straight Street.’ Sharyn Stone for ‘Too Many Birds are Singing.’ Brian Ross for ‘Watchers Observed.’ Jude Bridge for ‘The Brown Widow.’ Danielle McGee for ‘Sunlight Flashed on Metal.’ Congratulations to all...

Read More

Lyndall Hadow/Donald Stuart Competition: Judges Report

Posted by on Aug 21, 2013

On Sunday 18th, author Barbara Yates Rothwell (pictured) and the FAWWA announced the Prizes in the Lyndall Hadow/Donald Stuart Competition, at Mattie Furphy’s house. ADJUDICATION REPORT FOR SHORT STORY COMPETITION To read the winning story go to the ‘Competitions’...

Read More

Tom Collins Poetry Prize 2013 Winners Announced

Posted by on Mar 13, 2013

Congratulations to all our winners. First Prize Fifteen by E.A. Horne NSW Second Prize Surrounded by Anne-Marie Newton WA Highly Commended Cut by Brian Walters VIC Age sixteen by Carolyn Abbs WA Conservation status by Virginia Jealous WA Looks by Lucy Dougan WA Commended Revealed by Laura Jan Shore NSW Gingerbread House by Zan (Suzanne) Ross WA Pemberton Mist by Josephine Clarke WA Tom Collins Poetry Prize Judge’s Report...

Read More

Hadow Stuart Competition Winners Announced

Posted by on Aug 2, 2012

At an event held at Mattie Furphy House, Liana Joy Christensen, Judge of the Hadow Stuart Short Story Competition 2012, announced the winners. Equal First Prize went to Alexis Hailstones of Queensland for her story Simmering, and to Josephine Clarke of Western Australia for her story On This Big Farm. Each of them received a cheque for $250. Two prizes of $50 each were won for the two Highly Recommended Stories; Amnesia by Amy Dawson of the ACT, and The Blind is Broken by Mikaela Castledine of Western Australia. Judge’s Report Simmering On This Big...

Read More