Pages Navigation Menu



Since its beginnings in 1938 FAWWA has honoured established writers in our community by making them Fellows. Indeed, until Constitutional changes in 1996, only Fellows — those members with a body of published work — had voting rights. Many well-known writers such as Elizabeth Jolly and Julie Lewis began as Associate members, only becoming Fellows after achieving major publication.In 2005 our Fellows were invited to become members of a Council of Published Authors (COPA) and the title of Fellows was no longer used.In 2008, the Executive decided to return to the earlier title. Members who have recently achieved substantial publication are invited to apply for Fellow status.

To become a FAWWA Fellow you must:

  • Have had a substantial body of work published
  • Have been a member of the FAWWA for at least two years.

Applications should be addressed to:

Registrar of Writing Fellows
PO Box 6180
Swanbourne WA 6910

Email applications will be accepted. Email to

Applications will be considered by a committee of the FAWWA Management Board.

Your application should include a detailed list of published, performed or broadcast works with dates and details of publication, together with a list of literary prizes awarded for both published & unpublished works.

Contributions to newspapers, journals, ezines, websites and self-published works (except those that have received wide circulation and acclaim) should not be included.

The application should be accompanied by a cheque for $30 to cover costs of administration and the certificate. Excess funds will be used to further the work of the Fellowship. Should the application be unsuccessful the cheque will be refunded to the applicant, who may re-apply when further work has been published.

Current FAWWA Fellows

  • Prof. Brian Dibble
  • Betty Durston
  • Kevin Gillam
  • John Harman
  • Nicholas Hasluck
  • John Kinsella (Patron)
  • Andrew Lansdown
  • Joyce Parkes
  • Glen Phillips*
  • Barbara Temperton
  • Trevor Todd
  • Janet Woods
  • Barbara Yates-Rothwell
  • Barbara York Main
  • Norma King
  • Roland Leach
  • Pat Lowe
  • Ruth Marchant James
  • Shane Macaulay
  • Andrew Burke
  • Murray Jennings*Honorary Life Member

FAWWA Alumni (Former writers in residence)

  • Chris McLeod
  • Kevin Gillam
  • Glyn Parry
  • Trevor Todd
  • Michael Farrell (Vic)
  • Terry Whitebeach (Tasmania)
  • Stephen Dedman
  • Tracy Ryan
  • Bronwyne Thomason
  • Andrew Burke
  • Megan McKinlay
  • Sarah French
  • Julia Lawrinson
  • Rachel Robertson
  • Sue Woolfe
  • Peter Bishop
  • John Mateer
  • Liana Joy Christensen
  • Annamaria Weldon
  • Vivienne Glance